Date: 28 11 2015
  Home arrow Magical Realism arrow Borges Jorge Luis    
Main Menu
Writers by Movements
Literature Awards
Nobel Prize
Jorge Luis Borges
(Buenos Aires, Argentina, August 24, 1899 - Geneva, Switzerland, June 14, 1986)

Jorge Luis Borges
Jorge Luis Borges
Jorge Luis Borges was an Argentine writer whose tales of fantasy and dream worlds are classics of the 20th-century world literature. Best-known in the English speaking world for his short stories and fictive essays, Borges was also a poet, critic, translator and man of letters. Most of Borges's tales embrace universal themes - the often-recurring circular labyrinth can be seen as a metaphor of life or a riddle whose theme is time. He influenced a few Latin American “magical realists” by his characteristic style known by blended fact and fiction, mythical elements, and a vague feeling of surrealistic authenticity. For his work he won 46 national and international literary prizes, including the Prix Formentor he shared with Samuel Beckett in 1961, and World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement in 1979.

Major works:

Inquiries, 1925
The Chamber of Statues, 1933  
The Dread Redeemer Lazarus Morel,l 1933  
The Insulting Master of Etiquette Kotsuke no Suke, 1933  
The Mirror of Ink, 1933  
Monk Eastman, Purveyor of Iniquities, 1933  
Streetcorner Man, 1933  
Tom Castro, the Implausible Imposter, 1933  
The Widow Ching, Lady Pirate, 1933  
The Wizard Postponed ,1933  
The Masked Dyer, Hakim of Merv, 1934  
Tale of the Two Dreamers, 1934  
A Theologian in Death, 1934  
The Disinterested Killer Bill Harrigan, 1935  
Universal History of Iniquity, 1935
A Universal History of Infamy, 1935
The Library of Babel, 1941  
Tlon, Uqbar, Orbis Tertius, 1941  
Six Problems for Don Isidro Parodi, 1942
Six Problems for Don Isidro, 1942
The Aleph, 1945  
A Double for Mohammed, 1946  
The Generous Enemy, 1946  
Of Exactitude in Science, 1946  
Ficciones, 1956
A Personal Anthology, 1961
Funes the Memorious, 1962  
The Immortal, 1962  
The Lottery in Babylon, 1962  
Labyrinths, 1964
Dreamtigers, 1964
Other Inquisitions 1937-52, 1964
The Intruder, 1966  
Extraordinary Tales, 1967
Chronicles of Bustos Domecq, 1967
Death and the Compass, 1968  
The Meeting, 1969  
Rosendo's Tale, 1969  
The Book of Imaginary Beings, 1969
Doctor Brodie's Report, 1970
Doctor Brodie's Report, 1970  
The Duel, 1970  
The Elder Lady, 1970  
The End of the Duel, 1970  
The Gospel According to Mark, 1970  
Guayaquil, 1970  
Juan Murana, 1970  
The Unworthy Friend, 1970  
Selected Poems 1923-1967, 1972
Borges on Writing, 1973
The Congress, 1974
The Book of Sand, 1975
Utopia of a Tired Man, 1975 
The Aleph: And Other Stories 1933-1969, 1978
Borges: Selected Non-Fictions, 1981
August 25, 1983, 1982  
Seven Nights, 1984
Conversations, 1984
Atlas, 1985
The Rose of Paracelsus, 1998  
Everything and Nothing, 1997
Collected Fictions, 1998
Avelino Arredondo  
The Book of Sand  
The Bribe  
The Circular Ruins  
The Congress  
The Disk  
The Mirror and the Mask  
The Night of the Gifts  
Odin with Delia Ingenieros  
The Other  
The Sect of the Thirty  
There Are More Things  
The Zahir  


< Prev   Next >

2008 Writers History