Date: 27 11 2015
  Home arrow Realism arrow Gogol Nikolai    
Main Menu
Writers by Movements
Literature Awards
Nobel Prize
Nikolai Gogol
(Sorochintsi, Ukraine, April 1, 1809 — Moscow, Russia, March 4, 1852)

Nikolai Gogol
Nikolai Gogol
Nikolai Vasilievich Gogol was a Russian novelist, dramatist, and satirist whose works belong to both Romanticism and Realism. He is considered a founder of critical realism in Russian literature. His style of writing is highly imaginative, characterized with playful language and use of elements such as romance, humour, and the supernatural. In his novels, short stories, and plays he deals with historical tales, Petersburg mythology, Russian society of his time, and with the defects of human character. Gogol was one of the first Russian writers who criticized Russian’s way of life through his characters ranging from bureaucrats, lunatics, swindlers, to humiliated losers. Most of his plays are on the repertoires of classical theatres, and some of his works, such as “Taras Bulba,” “Revizor,” (The Government Inspector) and “Shinel,” (The Overcoat) were adapted for film.

Major works:

Gants Kyuchelgarten (Hans Küchelgarten), 1829
Vechera na Khutore Bliz Dikan'ki (Evenings on a Farm near Dikanka), 1831-32
Mirgorod, 1835
Arabeski (Arabesques), 1835
Taras Bulba, 1835  
Zapiski Sumassedshego (The Diary of a Madman), 1835
Nevski Prospekt (St. Petersburg Stories), 1835
Nos (The Nose), 1836
Koliaska (The Coach), 1836
Shinel (The Overcoat), 1842
Sochinenii, 1842
Portret (The Portrait), 1842 -
Rim (Rome), 1842
Zenitba (The Marriage), 1842
Mervtvye Duhi I-II (Dead Souls), 1841-46
Igrogi (The Gamblers), 1843
Vybrannyye Mesta iz Perepiski s Druzyami (Selected Passages from Correspondence with My Friends), 1847
Razmyshleniia o Bozhestvennoi Liturgii (The Divine Liturgia of the Eastrn Orthodox Church), 1913  
Collected Works, 1922-27 (6 vols.)
Polnoe Sobranie Sochinenii, 1937-52 (14 vols.)
The Collected Tales and Plays, 1964
Letters of Nikolai Gogol, 1967
The Diary of a Madman and Other Stories, 1972
Avtorskaya Ispoved (An Author's Confession), 1974
< Prev   Next >

2008 Writers History